The Private Eye Paul Foot Award 2023 – call for submissions

banner with red and blue background

Entries are now open for The Private Eye Paul Foot Award 2023 for Investigative and Campaigning Journalism.  Set up in memory of renowned journalist Paul Foot, who died in 2004, the Award honours the UK’s most brilliant, talented and determined journalists working in the fields of investigative and campaigning journalism today.



As last year, all submissions must be made online to awards@private-eye.co.uk. Postal submissions will not be accepted. The entry form and covering letter must be attached to the submission email and can be downloaded here.

Submissions will be accepted for material published in a newspaper, magazine or website between 1st April 2022 and 28th March 2023. The deadline for entries is Tuesday 28th March 2023, 1.00pm. No broadcast material is eligible. Individual journalists, teams of journalists or entire publications may enter and entries will be considered for anything from a single piece to entire campaigns.

The judging panel is comprised of Padraig Reidy (Chair), Francis Wheen, Simon Jenkins, Helen Lewis, Hannah Al-Othman, David Collins, Janine Gibson, Julia Langdon, Kim Sengupta and Matt Foot.

Ian Hislop, Editor of Private Eye, said: “Important Announcement: this year the Paul Foot Awards are going to be Gender Neutral. There will be no separate categories for Best Male Journalist and Best Female Journalist.*

*OK there never were separate categories and there’s only ever been one prize but if the BRITS can get all that publicity surely we can get some too?  And unlike the BRITS, WE will definitely have a shortlist that ISN’T all men!!“

Padraig Reidy, Chair of Judges, The Private Eye Paul Foot Award, said: “The Paul Foot Award is special because of the huge variety of entries we get. From blogs, to trade magazines, to global news giants – every entry is considered without fear or favour. The judges can’t wait to get reading this year’s entries.”

Key Dates
  • Tuesday 28th March 1.00pm: Deadline for entries. Applications must be submitted ONLINE ONLY. NO ENTRIES BY POST WILL BE ACCEPTED. Early applications are encouraged.  Please see entry criteria below.
  • May 2023: Details of the short-listed entries will be published at private-eye.co.uk
  • Tuesday 6th June: The winning entry for 2023 will be revealed at an awards announcement event hosted by Ian Hislop in central London.

The 2022 award was won by Hannah Al-Othman and David Collins, The Sunday Times, for their entry on The Murder of Agnes Wanjiru. Their winning investigation painstakingly uncovered the story of the murder of Kenyan sex worker Agnes Wanjiru, revealing a disturbing culture of misogyny, secrecy, and impunity in the British army.

About Paul Foot
Paul Foot, an investigative journalist, editor and left-wing campaigner, worked variously for the Daily Record, the Daily Mirror, The Guardian and Private Eye. He was involved in many high-profile campaigns throughout his illustrious career, including the Birmingham Six, the Bridgewater Four and the John Poulson scandal. His accolades include the Journalist of the Year, the Campaigning Journalist of the Year, the George Orwell Prize for Journalism and in 2000 he was honoured as the Campaigning Journalist of the Decade.  Paul Foot died in 2004 at the age of 66.

For further information, including a downloadable application form, please go to:

www.private-eye.co.uk         #paulfootaward

For further information, please contact Amelia Knight, Midas

Tel: 07771 791 210 / Email: amelia.knight@midaspr.co.uk.