Maggie O’Farrell wins 2020 Women’s Prize For Fiction

Maggie O’Farrell has won the 2020 Women’s Prize for Fiction and is crowned the Prize’s 25th winner with her eighth novel Hamnet (Tinder Press).

O’Farrell’s Hamnet, set in 1596 and inspired by the life and death of Shakespeare’s only son, was chosen from a shortlist that included Dominicana by Angie Cruz, Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo, A Thousand Ships by Natalie Haynes, The Mirror and the Light by Hilary Mantel and Weather by Jenny Offill.

In a live digital awards ceremony developed for the 25th year, the 2020 Chair of Judges Martha Lane Fox announced Maggie O’Farrell as the winner live from London, while fellow judge Paula Hawkins presented the author with the £30,000 prize and the ‘Bessie’, a limited-edition bronze figurine, in her hometown of Edinburgh.

Hamnet, while set long ago, like all truly great novels expresses something profound about the human experience that seems both extraordinarily current and at the same time, enduring.

Private: Martha Lane Fox, Chair of Judges, Women’s Prize for Fiction 2020

The Women’s Prize for Fiction is the UK’s most prestigious annual book award celebrating and honouring fiction by women. Now in its 25th year, the Prize celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women in English from across the world.

The judges for the 2020 Women’s Prize for Fiction are:

Martha Lane Fox (Chair), businesswoman, philanthropist and public servant

Scarlett Curtis, writer and activist

Melanie Eusebe, co-founder of the Black British Business Awards

Viv Groskop, author and comedian

Paula Hawkins, international bestselling author