Wolfson History Prize Confirms 2019 Dates

The Wolfson History Prize has confirmed the dates for the forty-seventh Prize, including the shortlist announcement and awards ceremony.

The shortlist of six historical non-fiction books will be announced on Monday 15 April, and the winner, will be named at a ceremony at Claridge’s Hotel, London, on Tuesday 11 June. The winner will be awarded £40,000, with each shortlisted author receiving £4,000.

The Wolfson History Prize (@WolfsonHistory), the most prestigious history writing prize and the most valuable non-fiction writing prize in the UK, is awarded annually to a work of historical writing that combines excellence in historical research with readability for a general audience.

Celebrating the authors who bring history to life for the public, the Wolfson History Prize 2018 winner was Peter Marshall for his book Heretics and Believers: A History of the English Reformation, while Out of China: How the Chinese Ended the Era of Western Domination by Robert Bickers, The Butchering Art: Joseph Lister’s Quest to Transform the Grisly World of Victorian Medicine by

Lindsey Fitzharris, A Deadly Legacy: German Jews and the Great War by Tim Grady, Black Tudors: The Untold Story by Miranda Kaufmann, and Heligoland: Britain, Germany and the Struggle for the North Sea by Jan Rüger completed the shortlist. Previous winners have included Mary Beard, Simon Schama, Eric J. Hobsbawm, Amanda Vickery, Antony Beevor, Christopher Bayly, and Antonia Fraser.

In its 47-year history, the Wolfson History Prize has awarded over £1.1 million to more than 100 historians, showcasing a huge variety of fascinating and eclectic books from diverse voices.

The Wolfson History Prize is run and awarded by the Wolfson Foundation, an independent charity that awards grants in the fields of science, health, education, arts & humanities.

Comments are closed.