Wales Book of the Year 2010 / Shortlist announced at Hay Festival

The shortlists for Wales Book of the Year 2010 – Wales’s premier award for literature – were announced today, Sunday 6 June, at the Guardian Hay Festival.

From a longlist which was notable for its diversity, the judges have chosen award-winning poet Philip Gross for his poems inspired by images of electricity pylons taken with a pin-hole camera; Anglo-Russian historian Nikolai Tolstoy for his re-examination of the origins of the tales of the Mabinogi and Terri Wiltshire for her debut novel about racism in America’s Deep South.

The awards, worth £10,000 to the winners, are presented to the best books of the year in the English and Welsh language.

The English and Welsh-language winners will be announced on Wednesday 30 June at a gala dinner at St David’s Hotel, Cardiff where each winner will receive a cheque for £10,000 and the four runners-up will receive £1,000.

For the second year running English-language readers can vote online for the Media Wales People’s Choice prize which will also be presented that evening.

The English language judges are poet and lecturer at the University of Wales, Ian Gregson (chair); fiction writer, James Hawes and broadcaster Sara Edwards.

For more information, download the press release below or contact [email protected]