The London Book Fair International Excellence Awards 2016 Winners Announced

The winners of The London Book Fair International Excellence Awards, in association with The Publishers Association and sponsored by Hytex, have been announced at a prestigious awards ceremony held on the first day of LBF.

French publisher Actes Sud took home The Bookseller Adult Trade Publisher Award and was commended for its “depth and breadth of publishing, second-to-none design and production values, and a ground-breaking list”. The judges also praised its imprint Sindbad “which champions writing from the Arabic and Muslim worlds”.

In a new category for 2016, The Bookstore of the Year Award went to Melbourne-based Readings for “its community outreach, support of Australian authors and its help for non-profit organisations working on literacy initiatives”.

The US had another successful year at the awards, with two wins overall. Words Without Borders won The Publishers Weekly Literary Translation Initiative Award with judges reflecting that “literature in the translation sector is flourishing with momentum, passion and innovation”. In The Global Rights 365 Literary Agent Award category, New-York-based The Barbara J. Zitwer Agency, who had previously been nominated for The Outstanding Contribution Award 2014, took the crown and was praised for “for the grace and persistence of her dealings”.

China had a fantastic night and was awarded two highly coveted prizes. The BookBrunch Children’s and Young Adult Trade Publisher Award was presented to Jieli Publishing House Co. Ltd because of “its broad and inclusive approach” and its catalogue reflecting “the best of both home grown and international authors and books”. Meanwhile, China also won the Market Focus Achievement Award as accepted by government owned CNPIEC (China National Publications Import & Export).

Jacks Thomas, Director, The London Book Fair, said: “The awards represent the very best the publishing industry has to offer across the globe, and we were delighted to see winners from countries as far afield as Sudan, France, Poland, New Zealand and Brazil. For me, meeting and celebrating these publishers’ hard work, dedication and talent is such a fundamental part of the Book Fair. It is these inspiring companies and people around the world who make publishing such a special industry, that I am privileged to work in.”

Stephen Lotinga, Chief Executive, The UK Publishers Association, said: “The International Excellence Awards provide an incredible opportunity to recognise achievements within the publishing industry globally. It showcases the wealth of cultural diversity driving the production of enriching works enjoyed by people worldwide. From France to New Zealand, from Sudan to China, the commitment and dedication demonstrated by the publishers has been none other than inspirational and it has been an honour to hear their stories and celebrate as part of the London Book Fair.”

The full list of this year’s International Excellence Awards winners is below:

  • The Bookstore of the Year Award: Readings (Australia)
  • The Literary Festival Award: Flupp (Brazil)
  • The Publishers Weekly Literary Translation Initiative Award: Words without Borders (US)
  • The Knowledgespeak Academic and Professional Publisher Award: Auckland University Press (New Zealand)
  • The BookBrunch Children’s and Young Adult Trade Publisher Award: Jieli Publishing House Co. Ltd (China)
  • The Bookseller Adult Trade Publisher Award: Actes Sud (France)
  • The China Publishing & Media Journal Educational Learning Resources Award: SuperMemo World sp. z o.o. (Poland)
  • The Global Rights 365 Literary Agent Award: The Barbara J. Zitwer Agency (US)
  • The Education Initiatives Award: United Nations – African Union Mission in Darfur (UNAMID) (Sudan)
  • The Market Focus Achievement Award: Market Focus China (China)
  • The Total Licensing IP Rights Across Media Award: The Night Zookeeper (UK) 

Also hosted on the night was a selection of awards held in association with The London Book Fair: 

  • The London Book Fair Simon Master Chairman’s Award: Ernest Hecht
  • The Quantum Publishing Innovation Award: Reedsy
  • The IPA Prix Voltaire 2016: Raif Badawi (Saudi Arabia)
  • The London Book Fair Trailblazer Awards:
  • George Burgess, Entrepreneur and Marketing Lead at Gojimo
  • Clio Cornish, Executive Publisher at HarperCollins
    • Nick Coveney, Head of Digital at Kings Road Publishing
    • Ella Kahn, Co-Founder of DKW Literary Agency & Bryony Woods, Co-Founder of DKW Literary Agency
  • The Association for Publishing Education Dissertation and Project Prizes
  • Best Dissertation for a Postgraduate: Veronica Morgan, University College London
  • Best Dissertation for an Undergraduate: Fiona Parker, Loughborough University (BA Publishing with English)
  • Best Overall Project: Amy Ellis, Oxford Brookes University
  • Accessible Books Consortium Award for Accessible Publishing: Initiative (Joint winner)
  • Action on Disability Rights and Development (ADRAD) (Nepal)
  • DK & the DK Braille Concept Development Team (UK)
  • Accessible Books Consortium Award for Accessible Publishing: Publisher
    • Elsevier B.V
    • The London Book Fair Lifetime Achievement Award
      • Gail, Baroness Rebuck, DBE, Chair of Penguin Random House, UK

The awards, which celebrate international excellence in the book industry, cover the whole scope of international publishing, including academic and scholarly publishing, children’s publishing, literary translation and digital innovation. In each award category the judging panel was made up of experts in that sector.

The awards were presented at The London Book Fair, London Olympia Conference Centre on Tuesday 12th April. The drinks reception was sponsored by UKTI.

Comments are closed.