Shortlist for the Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards 2009 announced

Specsavers, Cactus TV and ITV3 in partnership with the Crime Writers’ Association (CWA) are pleased to announce the shortlists for the Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards 2009, celebrating the crème de la crème of Crime & Thriller fiction.

The culmination of a six-week season of ITV3 crime and drama programming, the Specsavers Crime Thriller Awards 2009 are due to take place on Wednesday, 21st October at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel and will be televised on ITV3 later that month.

On the night Colin Dexter, Lynda La Plante, Ian Rankin, Ruth Rendell and Val McDermid will be joining PD James in the Hall of Fame, which honours the achievements of the genre’s greatest exponents, past and present. Each award of the evening will be presented by celebrity faces with a connection to the world of crime fiction – last year’s presenter’s included Dame Helen Mirren and Alan Davies.

Amanda Ross, Managing Director Cactus TV, says: ‘This shortlist is a fabulous reflection of the incredible talent both on screen and on the bookshelves in the crime genre. It’s one of the bestselling book categories and spawns some of the most popular Films and TV shows. Our documentary series leading up to the Awards event on  ITV3 features the authors behind fantastic shows like Wire in the Blood, Rebus, Inspector Dalgleish, Wexford, Prime Suspect and Morse, and will also encourage the public to vote for their favourite bestseller of the year.  The “black” carpet will certainly be full of stars, as some of the best known talents in crime fiction are up to win the coveted Dagger Awards. Join us on ITV3 in October to see who wins…’

Download the full press release and shortlist below.

For more information, please contact [email protected] or [email protected].