LBF searching for world’s best bookstore

Search for world’s best bookstore launched by LBF 2016

Entries open for LBF International Excellence Awards 2016

NEWS FOR RELEASE, LONDON/FRANKFURT, 14 October 2015: The London Book Fair (LBF), in association with The UK Publishers Association (The PA), has launched the search for ‘The International Bookstore of the Year’, as part of the new-look LBF International Excellence Awards.

The LBF International Excellence Awards 2016, which opened online submissions today, are back for a third year to celebrate publishing success across the world and across sectors, with categories including Academic, Education and Trade publishing.

Companies or individuals can enter for the awards via the LBF website by 15 January 2016. Publishers are also encouraged to nominate companies or individuals who they feel deserve to be recognised for outstanding achievement in publishing this year.

Jacks Thomas, Director of The London Book Fair said:

‘It’s always good to celebrate achievement and the global publishing industry has more than its fair share of innovation, success and triumph. These awards are a great platform to promote the best practice we see around the world. For everyone out there who knows of projects and people who are going the extra mile and achieving great things – please do nominate them and help us to celebrate this creative industry.’

Richard Mollet, Chief Executive of the Publishers Association said:

‘I am delighted that the International Excellence Awards are now a firm fixture on the LBF schedule.  Our focus this year on finding the world’s best bookstore aims to highlight the absolutely vital role bookshops play worldwide in not only promoting new titles but also advising readers on the many excellent books already published but yet to be discovered.  We look forward to hearing about the many initiatives being undertaken by colleagues around the world which showcase the best in publishing.’

The Awards are the UK’s recognition of international publishing industry excellence. They have been designed to celebrate achievement across the entire business of publishing. 10 categories are open to international companies outside the UK only. UK organisations are eligible for three awards (indicated by (*) below):

  • The London Book Fair Lifetime Achievement Award (*)
  • Bookstore of the Year Award
  • Publishers Association Copyright Protection Award
  • Academic and Professional Publisher Award
  • Education Initiatives Award
  • Educational Learning Resources Award
  • Adult Trade Publisher Award
  • Trade Children’s and Young Adult Publisher Award
  • Literary Translation Initiative Award
  • IP Licensing Across Media Award
  • Innovation Award (*)
  • Literary Agent Award
  • Market Focus Achievement Award (*)

Nominations and submissions in these categories will be reviewed by panels of UK judges with relevant expertise in each category. The Awards ceremony will also celebrate several other awards including the Association for Publishing Education (APE) Awards and The IPA Freedom to Publish Award. Please note nominations will not be sought for these categories with judging undertaken by APE and IPA respectively. The Awards were launched at LBF 2014 when companies from US, Malaysia, India and Australia led the way. This year’s winners included companies from Middle East, Singapore, China, Sweden with a particularly strong showing from Belgian companies who won two awards; Uigeverij Van receiving the Educational Learning Resources Award and Clavis Publishing winning Trade Children’s and Young Adult Publisher Award.The shortlist will be announced in March 2016. The winners will be announced at an invitation-only ceremony on Tuesday 14 April 2016, at LBF, Olympia, London.

  • Entry by 15 January 2016. Full details on the entry criteria for each award category are below and on the LBF website –

Comments are closed.