LBF International Excellence Awards 2016: SHORTLIST REVEALED

The shortlist for The London Book Fair International Excellence Awards 2016 has been announced, with China leading the shortlists with five nominations and the USA and Australia not far behind with four each.

The awards, which are held in partnership with the UK Publishers Association (PA), celebrate success in 14 categories, representing the best publishing ambassadors, cutting edge publishing, and ground breaking initiatives in the industry.

The new Bookstore of the Year Award category represents the breadth and quality of bookshops across the globe, with retailers from Australia, Italy, Estonia and China represented. The Bookseller Adult Trade Publisher Award promises to be a close battle between Actes Sud (France), Laguna Doo (Serbia) and Interlink Publishing (USA).

China (5), USA (4), Australia (4), Poland (3), Italy (2), and Brazil (2) all received multiple entries. Israel, Sudan and Serbia are represented for the first time in the award’s three-year history.

In addition to the 10 international awards (eligible to companies whose main work is outside of UK), there are 4 awards which are open to all countries to enter including the UK.

Jacks Thomas, Director, The London Book Fair, said: “Now in their third year, the LBF International Excellence Awards are a one-stop showcase for some fantastic innovation and sheer determination to get books and content into the hands of consumers in a variety of classical and creative ways. Just looking at the shortlists makes me want to shout a big three cheers for the global publishing industry and all who work in it!”

Stephen Lotinga, Chief Executive, The UK Publishers Association, said: “These awards are going from strength to strength and demonstrates that excellence in publishing has no geographic boundary. This shortlist shows how, from the USA to China, Argentina to Turkey via France, New Zealand, Poland and of course the UK, there are no shortages of exciting developments in the book and publishing industry.”

The Bookstore of the Year Award
o Readings (Australia)
o Hoepli (Italy)
o Rahva Raamat (Estonia)
o Sanlian Bookhouse (China)

The Literary Festival Award
o Open Book (South Africa)
o The Krakow festival (Poland)
o Flupp (Brazil)
o FLIP (Festa Literaria Internacional de Paraty) (Brazil)

The Publishers Weekly Literary Translation Initiative Award
o Paper Republic (China)
o Words without Borders (USA)
o Archipelago Books (USA)

The SSP Scholarly Kitchen Academic and Professional Publisher Award
o Higher Education Press Limited Company (China)
o Teseo (Argentina)
o Auckland University Press (New Zealand)

The Trade Children’s and Young Adult Publisher Award
o Jieli Publishing House Co.Ltd (China)
o Editrice Il Castoro (Italy)
o Dwie Siostry (Two Sisters) (Poland)

The Bookseller Adult Trade Publisher Award
o Actes Sud (France)
o Laguna Doo (Serbia)
o Interlink Publishing (USA)

The China Publishing & Media Journal Educational Learning Resources Award
o Kweetet (Belgium)
o Cambridge University Press (Australia)
o SuperMemo World sp. z o.o. (Poland)
o Quirky kid (Australia)

The Global Rights 365 Literary Agent Award
o Pontas Agency (Spain)
o The Barbara J. Zitwer Agency (USA)
o Deborah Harris (Israel)
o Hedlund Literary agency (Sweden)

The Education Initiatives Award
o Book Aid International (UK) for their work in Sub-Saharan Africa
o United Nations – African Union Mission in Darfur (UNAMID) (Sudan)
o Quirky Kid (Australia)

The Market Focus Achievement Award
o Market Focus China
o Market Focus Turkey
o Market Focus Russia

The Total Licensing IP Rights Across Media Award
o Iain Pears (UK)
o The Night Zookeeper (UK)
o HarperCollins UK – ‘Mog’ Christmas campaign with Sainsbury’s & Save The Children (UK)

The Publishers Association Copyright Protection Award

The Accessible Books Consortium (ABC) International Excellence Award: Publisher

The Accessible Books Consortium (ABC) International Excellence Award: Initiative

The winners of a number of other Awards will also be presented on the night including: The Quantum Publishing Innovation Award, The Association for Publishing Education (APE) Student Awards, The IPA Freedom to Publish Prize, The LBF Trailblazer Awards and The London Book Fair Simon Master Chairman’s Award.
The London Book Fair Lifetime Achievement Award will also be presented.

The awards, which celebrate international excellence in the book industry, cover the whole scope of international publishing, including academic and scholarly publishing, children’s publishing, literary translation and digital innovation. In each award category the judging panel was made up of experts in that sector.

The LBF International Book Industry Excellence Awards will be an invite-only evening event, and will take place on Tuesday 12 April, the first day of The LBF 2016. The Awards Ceremony will be held at 6.00pm in The Conference Centre, Olympia, London.

For further information about The London Book Fair International Excellence Awards 2016, please contact:
Ashley Baugh at Midas Public Relations on 0207 361 7860 or [email protected]

Tuesday 12 – Thursday 14 April 2016

Comments are closed.