LBF: Best in world publishing vie for top awards.

LBF International Excellence Awards 2015 logo


LBF International Excellence Awards 2015: Shortlist revealed

US shortlisted eight times, China with six, The Netherlands with four.

LONDON, 19 MARCH 2015: The shortlist for The LBF International Excellence Awards 2015 spans the globe with companies from 21 countries being recognised from Philippines to Croatia, and Mexico to Taiwan.

The LBF awards, which are held in partnership with The UK Publishers Association, celebrate success in 18 categories, representing the breadth of the international publishing industry.

This year’s shortlist showcases some of the biggest talents in the industry from the hotly contested Award for Best Use of IP where Mojang, the Swedish developer of video game sensation, Minecraft, take on Aadarsh, the Indian creators of Purple Turtle, the popular franchise of books, apps and YouTube videos. In the highly-acclaimed International Literary Agent Award, a global race is on between renowned agents from Germany, Spain and the US.

UK (11 shortlisted companies), US (8), China (6), Netherlands (4), India (3), South Africa (2) and Belgium (2) all received multiple entries.

Jacks Thomas, Director, The London Book Fair, said:

“These awards, now in their second year and designed to showcase innovation around the world, cover a fantastic breadth of ingenuity and creativity in the international arena. The ceremony promises to be a real treat at which we honour these amazing nominees and shout loudly about what a talented, resourceful and inspirational industry the book world is. Congratulations to all those shortlisted.”

Richard Mollet, Chief Executive, The UK Publishers Association, said:

“This shortlist should leave no one in any doubt as to the exciting developments occurring in publishing around the world.  It highlights the amazing innovation taking place as well as the way in which publishers are pushing their traditional boundaries, moving into apps, video games and other forms of multimedia.”

The shortlisted nominees in all categories are:

The International  Literary Agent  Award: Anna Soler-Pont, Pontas Literary & Film Agency (Spain); Nicole Witt, Literarische Agentur Mertin Inh. (Germany); Pierre Astier, Astier-Pecher Agency (France); Tom Colchie, Thomas Colchie Agency (US)

The Award for Best Use of IP across Multiple Media Platform: Aadarsh Pvt.Ltd (India); Mojang (Sweden)

The International Literary Translation Initiative Award: Asymptote Journal (Taiwan), Dutch Foundation for Literature (The Netherlands); Paper Republic (China)

The International Academic and Professional Publisher Award: IOP Publishing (UK), Sage Publications (US); Princeton University Press (US)

The International Education Initiatives Award: Book Aid International (UK), Library for All (US), Via Afrika (South Africa)

The International  Educational Learning Resources Award: Caramel Tree (US); C.J. Fallon (Ireland); Uigeverij Van In (Belgium)

The Bookseller International Adult Trade Publisher Award: Fraktura (Croatia), People’s Literature Publishing House (China); Rupa Publications India (India)

International Trade Children’s and Young Adult  Publisher Award: Clavis Publishing (Belgium), Duckbill Books (India), Fondo de Cultura Economica (Mexico)

The Publishers Association Copyright Protection Award: FILCOLS (Philippines), IPCC (China), Nigerian Publishers Association (Nigeria)

Mexico Market Focus Outstanding Contribution Award: Adam Freudenheim, Pushkin Press (UK), Daniel Hahn, Director of the British Centre for Literary Translation (UK), Pam Dix, IBBY UK (UK)

The Market Focus Achievement Award: China National Import and Export (Group) Corporation (China), Dorling Kindersley China (China), Sharjah International Book Fair (UAE)

Accessible Books Consortium Award for Accessible Publishing – Initiative: BooXtream, a division of Icontact (The Netherlands), Libri Italiani Accessibili (Italy), Syndicat national de l’edition (France), Young Power in Social Action, YPSA (Bangladesh)

Accessible Books Consortium Award for Accessible Publishing – Publisher: Cambridge University Press (UK), Elsevier (Netherlands), HarperCollins (US), Sage Publishing (UK)

The Publishers Weekly International Book Industry Technology Supplier Award: BooXtream (Netherlands), Copyright Clearance Center (US), China National Publications Import and Export (Group) Corporation (China), De Marque (Canada)

The Publishing for Digital Minds Innovation Award: Gojimo (UK), Join Book Club (UK), Rook Labs (UK), Snapplify (South Africa), The Pigeonhole (UK)

The winners of a number of other awards will also be announced on the night including: The Association for Publishing Education Dissertation and Project Prize; and The London Book Fair Chairman’s Award.

The London Book Fair Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Peter Usborne, founder and Managing Director of Usborne Books.

The awards, which celebrate international excellence in the book industry, cover the whole scope of international publishing, including academic and scholarly publishing, children’s publishing and digital innovation. In each award category the judging panel was made up of experts in that sector.

The awards will be presented at a gala evening in London on 14 April. The invite-only event will be attended by publishers from around the world and will take place at the stunning new LBF venue London Olympia in The Conference Centre.

Comments are closed.