Katie Fforde Announces Shortlist for Pure Passion Awards 2011

Katie Fforde, chair of the Romantic Novelists’ Association (RNA), is delighted to announce the shortlist for the Pure Passion Awards 2011.

The RNA Pure Passion Awards celebrate the very best in romantic fiction. Over 200 titles were submitted for this year’s four categories, from the long-standing and hotly-contested Romantic Novel of the Year, to more recent additions which recognise the breadth of romantic fiction – the Historical Novel Prize, Romantic Comedy Award, and Love Story of the Year.

‘This year’s short list represents the whole gamut of romantic fiction,’ said Katie Fforde, RNA Chair. ‘We have royalty, love letters, history and humour, from both newcomers and established authors. A truly impressive list.’

The Shortlists

Over 200 books were submitted for the greatly-prized Romantic Novel of the Year. The shortlist of six titles have been selected by a panel of 85 readers from the general public. The winner will be selected by three independent judges – Amanda Craig, author and book reviewer, Foyle’s War actor and contributor to the blog Vulpes Libris, Jay Benedict, and fiction buyer for Waterstone’s, Janine Cook.

The shortlist, in alphabetical order by author name, is:

To Defy a King, Elizabeth Chadwick, Sphere
The Golden Prince, Rebecca Dean, HarperCollins
Kissing Mr Wrong, Sarah Duncan, Headline Review
The Jewel of St. Petersburg, Kate Furnivall, Sphere
Amazir, Tom Gamble, Beautiful Books
The Last Letter From Your Lover, JoJo Moyes, Hodder & Stoughton

The Romantic Comedy Prize is organised and administered in the same way as the Romantic Novel of the Year. To reach the shortlist, the books must be laugh-out-loud funny. The winner is chosen by a panel of judges – Jane Wenham-Jones, author and columnist in magazine Booktime, Glenda Wood, Head of Libraries, Culture and Learning for Hertfordshire County Council, and Sara Craven, author of over 80 books for Mills & Boon.

The Shortlist is:
The Way to a Woman’s Heart, Christina Jones, Piatkus
I Heart Paris, Lindsey Kelk, HarperCollins
Mini Shopaholic, Sophie Kinsella, Bantam Press
Take a Chance on Me, Jill Mansell, Headline Review
Katy Carter Wants A Hero, Ruth Saberton, Orion
A Date in your Diary, Jules Stanbridge, Little Black Dress

Fiction submitted which is set pre-1960 is eligible for the Historical Novel Prize. As with Romantic Novel of the Year and Romantic Comedy Prize, a shortlist of six is selected by a panel of readers, and the winner selected by three judges – Richard Lee, founder of the Historical Novel Association, Elizabeth Hawksley, author and creative writing teacher, and Diane Pearson, president of the RNA since 1987. 

The Shortlist is:
To Defy a King, Elizabeth Chadwick, Sphere
Trade Winds, Christina Courtenay, Choc Lit
The Golden Prince, Rebecca Dean, HarperCollins
The Wayward Governess, Joanna Fulford, Mills & Boon Historical
The Jewel of St. Petersburg, Kate Furnivall, Sphere
Heart of Stone, Jane Jackson, Severn House

The Love Story of the Year is for a shorter romance where there is a strong emphasis on the developing central relationship. A shortlist of six is again chosen by the reading public, with the winner selected by three judges.

The Shortlist is:
The Piratical Miss Ravenhurst, Louise Allen, Mills & Boon Historical
Mother of the Bride, Caroline Anderson, Mills & Boon Romance
Bride in a Gilded Cage, Abby Green, Mills & Boon Modern
Moving On, Valerie Holmes, Linford Romance
Fortunate Wager, Jan Jones, Robert Hale
The Captain’s Mysterious Lady, Mary Nichols, Mills & Boon Historical

Two Lifetime Achievement Awards will be presented to two people who have made outstanding contributions to romantic fiction and the Romantic Novelists’ Association.
The winners for each award will be named at the Pure Passion Awards 2011, Monday, 7th March 2011 at a champagne reception at One Whitehall Place, Westminster.

For further information please contact [email protected]