Internationally acclaimed producer honoured by Middlesex University

Middlesex University has awarded an Honorary Doctorate to theatre producer David King.

The award was presented as part of the University’s annual graduation celebrations, and recognises King’s major contribution to the creative industries through a career which has seen him produce hit shows across the world.

He is the creative force behind Spirit Productions, which has production houses both in the UK and the United States employing more than 500 dancers, singers, creative directors and technical crew, putting on shows in America, Australia, Monte Carlo, South Africa, Europe, Asia and Canada.

King’s first major hit was the Irish dance show Spirit of the Dance, which has received nine awards worldwide and has been seen by a global audience of more than 30 million people. Other successes include Man in the Mirror, Dancing Queen and Rock Around the Clock.

David said: “It’s a great honour that has come at a very exciting time for me. I’ve had my own TV series this year and hit shows around the world, but this really is the icing on the cake.

“A career in performing arts is tremendously exciting. There is nothing quite like it but it’s a tough world out there and students need to be focused, determined and should never stop chasing their dream. “

Middlesex University Vice-Chancellor Michael Driscoll said: “The skill and determination that David King has shown during his career is a great example to graduates starting out on their own journey in the performing arts.

“I hope talented students across our dance, drama and music courses will be inspired as they see David collect his degree and motivated to follow in his footsteps.”

David King collected his Honorary Doctorate at a ceremony at the University’s Hendon Campus (North London) on 22 July.

For further information please contact Tori Dance or Emma Lawson at Midas PR on 020 7361 7860

Notes for editors:

• The full list of honorary doctorate recipients for 2011 is Will Hutton, Shami Chakrabarti, Lynne Franks, Phil Tufnell, Phil Lane, David Bedford, Lorna Cocking, David King and Shiamak Davar.