Independent Bookshop Week Book Awards winners announced






The Booksellers Association of the UK and Ireland (The BA) today announced the three winners of this year’s Independent Bookshop Week (IBW) Book Award, with wins for both Faber & Faber and Macmillan Children’s Books.  This year’s winners are:

  • Adult Category

Days Without End by Sebastian Barry (Faber & Faber)

  • Children’s Category

A Poem for Every Night of the Year, edited by Allie Esiri (Macmillan Children’s Books)

  • Picture Book Category

Tidy by Emily Gravett (Macmillan Children’s Books)

There were ten adult titles, and twelve titles in each of the children’s categories on the shortlists, which were selected by independent booksellers from nominations put forward by publishers.  The IBW 2017 judging panels were both chaired by BA President, Rosamund de la Hey.  This year’s Adult Category judges were Anna James, blogger, author and reviewer; Tim O’Kelly, One Tree Books, Petersfield; Fleur Sinclair, Sevenoaks Bookshop and Robert Penn, author, photographer and broadcaster.

Both Children’s and Picture Book shortlisted titles will be listed in ‘The Best New Children’s Books’ supplement that will run in The Guardian on the first day of IBW, on Saturday 24th June. The Children’s and Picture Book Category judges were David Litchfield, author of The Bear & The Piano; Alex Strick, diversity in children’s books campaigner and head of Inclusive Minds; Sanchita Basu de Sarka, Children’s Bookshop, Muswell Hill and Victoria Rossiter, Rossiter’s Bookshop, Monmouth & Ross on Wye.

Chair of Judges, Rosamund de la Hey, BA President and The Mainstreet Trading Company, commented: “Our judging meetings were lively sessions, as both panels debated three very impressive shortlists.  This did, however, lead to three inspiring and life-affirming books winning, all of which independent bookshops are sure to love to hand sell.  On behalf of the BA, I would like to congratulate Sebastian, Allie and Emily on their thoroughly deserved award wins!”

The winning books will be a central focus for IBW 2017, which starts on Saturday 24th June.  The titles will feature in IBW’s in-store POS materials, which includes posters and bookmarks featuring all shortlisted titles.

Last year’s winners were The Green Road by Anne Enright (Adult category); Pugs of the Frozen North by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre (Children’s category) and 2016: Stanley the Amazing Knitting Cat by Emily MacKenzie (Picture Book category).    #IBW2017  

Comments are closed.