The Booksellers Association of UK and Ireland (The BA) today announced the shortlist for the Independent Bookshop Week (IBW) Book Award.  Judged by a panel of authors, booksellers and journalists, the three winners – in Adult, Children’s and Picture Book categories – will be announced on Friday 23rd June, the day before the start of this year’s IBW. To support the in-store promotion of the shortlist both during IBW and beyond, participating booksellers will receive high quality POS materials featuring all 32 shortlisted titles, with the award at the heart of IBW’s trade and consumer promotional activities.

The Adult category features Julian Barnes, Sebastian Barry,Yuval Noah Harari, Paul Kalanithi, Maggie O’Farrell, Sarah Perry, Various (edited by Nikesh Shukla), Frances Spufford, John Lewis-Stempel and Rose Tremain.

Shortlist nominee for the Adult Category, Rose Tremain commented: “Independent booksellers are heroes of our time. Suffering several hard knocks, many have not only kept going, but recharacterised themselves as oases of intellectual and physical comfort; adding coffee counters, open fires and soft chairs, where books can be browsed in perfect peace. I salute them all.”

Nominations for the Children’s category are:Emily Barr, Frank Cottrell Boyce, Peter Bunzl, Emma Carroll, Abi Elphinstone, Allie Esiri, Zana Fraillon, Clare Furniss, Andy Griffiths; illustrated by Terry Denton, Katherine Rundell, Marcus Sedgwick and Katherine Woodfine.

The Picture Book category shortlist is: Rob Biddulph, Benji Davies, Julia Donaldson & Sara Ogilvie, Vivian French; illustrated by Nigel Baines,Kes Gray and Claire Gray; illustrated by Jim Field, Emily Gravett, Chris Hadfield; illustrated by The Fan Brothers, Leigh Hodgkinson, Kate Pankhurst, Lizzy Stewart, Britta Teckentrup and Michelle Robinson; illustrated by David Roberts.

Shortlist nominee for the Children’s Category, Zana Fraillon said: “It was my local independent bookshop that nurtured and grew my love of reading when I was young. With books waiting for me each week, hand-picked by the most knowledgeable of staff, I couldn’t help but fall in love with stories. It is now my favourite pastime to lose myself in the many bookshops that dot our cities, each one different, each one promising – and delivering – my next wonderful read.  Independent bookshops allow readers to find the books written just for them.”

Shortlist nominee for the Picture Book Category, illustrator Jim Field added: “I love independent bookshops, where you can always find hidden treasures. It’s very sad that so many have disappeared from our high streets. The success of the Oi series is due to word of mouth recommendation thanks to the knowledge of independent booksellers. I’m hugely grateful for all the support and whatever the result, it’s fantastic to be shortlisted.”

Both Children’s and Picture Book shortlisted titles will be listed in ‘The Best New Children’s Books’ supplement that will run in The Guardian on the first day of IBW, on Saturday 24th June.

The IBW 2017 judging panel will be chaired by BA President, Rosamund de la Hey.  The Adult Category judges are Anna James, blogger, author and reviewer; Tim O’Kelly, One Tree Books, Petersfield; Fleur Sinclair, Sevenoaks Bookshop and Robert Penn, author, photographer and broadcaster.  The Children’s and Picture Book Category judges are David Litchfield, author of The Bear & The Piano; Alex Strick, diversity in children’s books campaigner and head of Inclusive Minds; Sanchita Basu de Sarka, Children’s Bookshop, Muswell Hill and Victoria Rossiter, Rossiter’s Bookshop, Monmouth & Ross on Wye.

Chair of Judges, Rosamund de la Hey, BA President and The Mainstreet Trading Company, commented: “As ever, we have wonderful shortlists across all three categories, and I am sure there will be lively debate amongst the judges in choosing this year’s winners! The award is unique in that the titles very much appeal to the independent sector, and are ones that independent booksellers will really support and can hand-sell, especially around the time of IBW.”

For further information on the IBW Book Award shortlist, please go to https://tinyurl.com/n8qfhw6.


Comments are closed.