Griffin Gallery Announces Shortlist for £10,000 Award

Exhibition Dates: 2nd November – 15th December
Winner Announced: 1st November
Private view: 1st November, 6.30 – 8.30pm

Griffin Gallery is delighted to announce the ten artists shortlisted for Griffin Art Prize 2017. Out of 350 entries ten artists have been shortlisted to take part in the Griffin Art Prize 2017 exhibition from 2nd November – 15th December. The winner of the £10,000 prize will be announced at a special private view on 1st November 2017 at Griffin Gallery.

The Griffin Art Prize shortlist for 2017 is:
Cristina Banban, Sooyoung Chung, Oli Epp, Jade Fadojutimi, Jonathan Kelly, Anna Liber Lewis, Jinyong Park, Noor Qayyum, Maia Regis, Rania Schoretsaniti

The winner of the Griffin Art Prize 2017 will receive:

  • A cash stipend of £5000
  • £2000 for studio rent
  • £3000 of materials from Winsor & Newton, Liquitex and Conté à Paris
  • An exhibition showcase at the Griffin Art Prize exhibition in November 2018
  • A professional support programme including mentoring from an arts professional, technical advice from chemists in the Innovation & Development laboratory, studio visits from Griffin Gallery head curator Becca Pelly-Fry

Now in its sixth year the Griffin Art Prize has established itself as an indicator of some of the most exciting emerging contemporary artists in painting and drawing. Alongside the Catlin Art Prize and Bloomberg New Contemporaries, the Griffin Art Prize aims to discover the stars of tomorrow and in the process to highlight the extraordinary calibre of emerging artistic talent in the UK. The Prize launches the careers of the next generation of artists who may not otherwise have the means to do so, by providing the time and funding necessary to pursue their artistic ambition.

The judges of the Griffin Art Prize 2017 are: artist Ansel Krut, Lindéngruppen owner and chairman, Jenny Lindén Urnes, Griffin Gallery head curator Becca Pelly-Fry, and Elephant magazine editor Robert Shore.

Previous Winners

2016    Ana Milenkovic

2015    Zsofia Schweger

2014    Chudamani Clowes

2013    Luke George and Elizabeth Rose

2012    Alzbeta Jaresova

The Griffin Art Prize is supported by leading fine art materials brands, Winsor & Newton, Liquitex and Conté à Paris as part of their long term commitment to support new and emerging talent in painting and drawing.

Image credit: Pepperoni by Cristina BanBan

Comments are closed.