Financial Times and McKinsey announce shortlist for 2017 Business Book of the Year Award

The Financial Times and McKinsey & Company today publish the shortlist for the 2017 Business Book of the Year Award. Now in its thirteenth year, the Award is an essential calendar fixture for authors and the global business community alike. Each year it recognises a work which provides the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues.

For this year’s shortlist, eight distinguished judges have chosen the six most influential business books of 2017:

  • The Spider Network:The Wild Story of a Maths Genius, a Gang of Backstabbing Bankers, and One of the Greatest Scams in Financial History, by David Enrich, WH Allen (UK); Custom House (U.S.)
  • Janesville:An American Story, by Amy Goldstein, Simon & Schuster
  • Adaptive Markets:Financial Evolution at the Speed of Thought, by Andrew W. Lo, Princeton University Press
  • The One Device: The Secret History of the iPhone, by Brian Merchant, Bantam Press (UK); Little, Brown (U.S.)
  • Reset:My Fight for Inclusion and Lasting Change, by Ellen Pao, Spiegel & Grau
  • The Great Leveler:Violence and the History of Inequality from the Stone Age to the Twenty-First Century, by Walter Scheidel, Princeton University Press

Lionel Barber, Editor of the Financial Times, said: “After an exceptionally robust debate on a wide ranging long list, we have chosen six titles on topics that range from the making of the iPhone to the evolution of financial markets. These books offer a compelling insight into today’s business trends.”

Vivian Hunt, McKinsey & Company’s Managing Partner, UK & Ireland, added: “This is a thought-provoking shortlist. The books span an impressive range of topics, styles and insights. They really capture the extent of the economic and social disruption we face today, and highlight the big global challenges governments, business and society need to confront.”

The judging panel, chaired by Lionel Barber, includes:

  • Mitchell Baker, Executive Chairwoman, Mozilla
  • Mohamed El-Erian, Chief Economic Advisor, Allianz; Chair, previously President Obama’s Global Development Council, (Winner, 2008, When Markets Collide)
  • Herminia Ibarra, The Charles Handy Visiting Professor of Organisational Behaviour, London Business School
  • Rik Kirkland, Partner and Director of Publishing, McKinsey & Company
  • Randall Kroszner, Norman R. Bobins Professor of Economics, University of Chicago Booth School of Business
  • Dambisa Moyo, Global Economist and Author, Non-Executive Director, Barrick Gold, Barclays, Chevron, and Seagate Technology
  • Shriti Vadera, Chairman, Santander UK; Senior Independent Director, BHP Billiton and Non-Executive Director, AstraZeneca

The winner will be announced at a dinner ceremony in New York on 6th November at the Lotte New York Palace, co-hosted by Lionel Barber and Dominic Barton, Global Managing Director of McKinsey & Company. Barry Diller, Chairman & Senior Executive, IAC and Expedia, Inc, will give the keynote speech. The winner of the Business Book of the Year Award 2017 will be awarded £30,000, and £10,000 will be awarded to the authors of each of the remaining shortlisted books.

Previous Business Book of the Year winners include: Sebastian Mallaby for The Man Who Knew: The Life and Times of Alan Greenspan (2016); Martin Ford for Rise of the Robots (2015); Thomas Piketty for Capital in the Twenty-First Century (2014); Brad Stone for The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon (2013); Steve Coll for Private Empire: ExxonMobil and American Power (2012); Abhijit V. Banerjee and Esther Duflo for Poor Economics (2011); Raghuram Rajan for Fault Lines (2010); Liaquat Ahamed for The Lords of Finance (2009); Mohamed El-Erian for When Markets Collide (2008); William D. Cohan for The Last Tycoons (2007); James Kynge for China Shakes the World (2006); and Thomas Friedman, as the inaugural award winner in 2005, for The World is Flat.

To learn more about the award, visit and follow the conversation at #BBYA17.

Comments are closed.