The Financial Times and McKinsey & Company today publish the shortlist for the 2015 Financial Times and McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award. Now in its eleventh year, the award is an essential calendar fixture for authors and the global business community alike. Each year it recognises the title that provides the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues.

For this year’s shortlist, the distinguished judges have chosen the six most influential business books of 2015:

  • The Rise of the Robots: Technology and the Threat of Mass Unemployment by Martin Ford (Oneworld Publications; Basic Books)
  • Losing the Signal: The Untold Story Behind the Extraordinary Rise and Spectacular Fall of Blackberry by Jacquie McNish and Sean Silcoff (Flatiron/Macmillan)
  • Digital Gold: The Untold Story of Bitcoin by Nathaniel Popper (Allen Lane/Penguin Press; Harper/ HarperCollins)
  • Unfinished Business: Women Men Work Family by Anne-Marie Slaughter (Oneworld Publications; Random House)
  • Misbehaving: The Making of Behavioural Economics by Richard Thaler (Allen Lane/Penguin Press; W. W. Norton)
  • How Music Got Free: What Happens When an Entire Generation Commits the Same Crime? by Stephen Witt (The Bodley Head/Penguin Random House; Viking)

Lionel Barber, editor of the Financial Times, said: “From behavioural economics to disruptive technology, this year’s shortlist tackles, with compelling narrative and in-depth analysis, the important themes that business must confront today.”

Vivian Hunt, McKinsey & Company’s Managing Partner, UK & Ireland, added: “We are very excited by this year’s shortlist. The six books really capture some of the key challenges that are demanding the attention of executives, policy makers and society in general.”

The judging panel, chaired by Lionel Barber, includes:

  • Mohamed El-Erian, former Chief Executive, PIMCO (winner, 2008, When Markets Collide)
  • Reid Hoffman, Entrepreneur, Co-founder, LinkedIn; Partner, Greylock Partners
  • Herminia Ibarra, Cora Chaired Professor of Leadership and Learning Professor of Organizational Behavior, INSEAD
  • Rik Kirkland, Partner, Global Publishing, McKinsey & Company
  • Dambisa Moyo, Director, Barclays Bank, SABMiller, Barrick Gold
  • Shriti Vadera, Chair, Santander UK; Director, Shriti Vadera Ltd; Non-Executive Director, BHP Billiton and AstraZeneca

The winner will be announced at a dinner ceremony on 17 November in New York, co-hosted by Lionel Barber and Dominic Barton, Global Managing Director of McKinsey & Company. Wendell P. Weeks, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Corning, will give the keynote speech. The winner of the Business Book of the Year Award 2015 will be awarded £30,000, and £10,000 will be awarded to each of the remaining shortlisted books.

Previous Business Book of the Year winners include: Thomas Piketty for Capital in the Twenty-First Century (2014); Brad Stone for The Everything Store: Jeff Bezos and the Age of Amazon (2013); Steve Coll for Private Empire: ExxonMobil and American Power (2012); Abhijit V. Banerjee and Esther Duflo for Poor Economics (2011); Raghuram Rajan for Fault Lines (2010); Liaquat Ahamed for The Lords of Finance (2009); Mohamed El-Erian for When Markets Collide (2008); William D. Cohan for The Last Tycoons (2007); James Kynge for China Shakes the World (2006); and Thomas Friedman, as the inaugural award winner in 2005, for The World is Flat.

To learn more about the award, visit and follow the conversation at #BBYA15.


Comments are closed.