Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award / Shortlist

Thursday 16 September 2010: The shortlist was announced today for the sixth annual Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award (

The 2010 shortlist is:

The Art of Choosing
Sheena Iyengar (Little, Brown, Twelve/Hachette Group)

The Facebook Effect: The Inside Story of the Company That Is Connecting the World
David Kirkpatrick (Virgin Books, Simon & Schuster)

The Big Short: Inside the Doomsday Machine
Michael Lewis (Allen Lane/Penguin Press UK, WW Norton & Co US)

More Money than God: Hedge Funds and the Making of a New Elite
Sebastian Mallaby (Bloomsbury, Penguin Press)

Fault Lines: How Hidden Fractures Still Threaten the World Economy
Raghuram Rajan (Princeton University Press)

Too Big to Fail: The Inside Story of How Wall Street and Washington Fought to Save the Financial System – and Themselves
Andrew Ross Sorkin (Allen Lane/Penguin Press UK, Viking/Penguin US)

This year’s judges, Lionel Barber, Liaquat Ahamed, Helen Alexander, Lynda Gratton, Mario Monti, Jorma Ollila and Shriti Vadera decided on the six books which, in their opinion, provided ‘the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues.’

The overall winner of the 2010 Book Award will be announced on 27th October at an Award Dinner in New York, at which Vartan Gregorian, President, the Carnegie Corporation of New York will be the keynote speaker.

The winning author will receive £30,000 and the other shortlisted authors will each receive £10,000, an increase of £5,000 over previous years.

Lionel Barber, Editor of the Financial Times comments:
‘This year’s short-list combines compelling narrative with trenchant analysis of the big questions facingthe business and financial world, two years on from the collapse of Lehman Brothers. The standard of writing is high and the insights into the causes and consequences of the global financial crisis are laid bare. The short-list also includes an account of the stunning rise of Facebook and a more philosophical reflection on the Art of Choosing by Columbia Professor Sheena Iyengar. The panel of judges would like to thank the authors and publishers for submitting an outstanding selection of books for this year’s prize.’

The judging panel for the 2010 Award is:
Lionel Barber, Editor, Financial Times
Liaquat Ahamed, Author
Helen Alexander, President, CBI
Lynda Gratton, Professor of Management Practice, London Business School
Mario Monti, President, Bocconi University, Honorary President of Bruegel
Jorma Ollila, Chairman, Nokia; Chairman, Royal Dutch Shell plc
Shriti Vadera, Adviser to the G20 Presidency, Korea

Previous winners of the Award are: Liaquat Ahamed for ‘The Lords of Finance’ (2009); Mohamed El-Erian for ‘When Markets Collide’ (2008); William D. Cohan for ‘The Last Tycoons’ (2007); James Kynge for ‘China Shakes the World’ (2006); and Thomas Friedman as the inaugural Award winner in 2005.

For more details, download the below press release or contact [email protected]