Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award / Longlist announced

The longlist was announced today for the Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award. The Award, which is in its sixth year, aims to identify the book providing the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues.

The books on the longlist are:

The End of the Free Market: Who Wins the War Between States and Corporations?
Ian Bremmer (Portfolio/Penguin)

How Markets Fail
: The Logic of Economic Calamities
John Cassidy (Allen Lane/Penguin Press UK, Farrar, Straus and Giroux US)

Circle of Greed: The Spectacular Rise and Fall of the Lawyer Who Brought Corporate America to Its Knees
Patrick Dillon and Carl M. Cannon (Random House/Crown Publishing Group, Broadway Books)

Fortune’s Fool: Edgar Bronfman, Jr., Warner Music, and an Industry in Crisis
Fred Goodman (Simon & Schuster)

Union Atlantic: A Novel
Adam Haslett (Tuskar Rock/Atlantic Books, Doubleday/Nan A Talese)

The Art of Choosing
Sheena Iyengar (Little, Brown, Twelve/Hachette Group)

The Lords of Strategy: The Secret Intellectual History of the New Corporate World
Walter Kiechel (Harvard Business Review Press)

The Facebook Effect: The Inside Story of the Company That Is Connecting the World
David Kirkpatrick (Simon & Schuster)

The Big Short: Inside the Doomsday Machine
Michael Lewis (Allen Lane/Penguin Press UK, WW Norton & Co US)

More Money than God: Hedge Funds and the Making of a New Elite   
Sebastian Mallaby (Bloomsbury, Penguin Press)

All the Devils Are Here: The Hidden History of the Financial Crisis
Bethany McLean and Joe Nocera (Portfolio/Penguin)

What Works: Success in Stressful Times
Hamish McRae (Harper Press/HarperCollins)

Fault Lines: How Hidden Fractures Still Threaten the World Economy
Raghuram Rajan (Princeton University Press)

The Rational Optimist: How Prosperity Evolves
Matt Ridley (Harper/Fourth Estate, HarperCollins Publishers)

Too Big to Fail: The Inside Story of How Wall Street and Washington Fought to Save the Financial System – and Themselves
Andrew Ross Sorkin (Allen Lane/Penguin Press UK, Viking/Penguin US)

MacroWikinomics: Rebooting Business and the World
Don Tapscott and Anthony Williams (Atlantic Books, Portfolio/Penguin)

A shortlist of up to six books determined by this year’s Award judging panel will be announced on 16th September. The overall winner of the 2010 Book Award will be announced at the Award Dinner in New York on 27th October 2010. The winning author will receive £30,000 and the other shortlisted authors will each receive £10,000, an increase of £5,000 over previous years.

The judging panel for the 2010 Award is:
> Lionel Barber, Editor, Financial Times
> Liaquat Ahamed, Author
> Helen Alexander, President, CBI
> Lynda Gratton, Professor of Management Practice, London Business School
> Mario Monti, President, Bocconi University, Honorary President of Bruegel
> Jorma Ollila, Chairman, Nokia; Chairman, Royal Dutch Shell plc
> Shriti Vadera, Adviser to the G20 Presidency, Korea

As a number of books on this year’s longlist address various aspects of the financial crisis, Lloyd Blankfein is recusing himself as a judge this year. Goldman Sachs is delighted to be a founder of the Financial Times and Goldman Sachs Business Book of the Year Award and remains enthusiastically committed to recognizing well written books that provide insight into some of the most important business issues of the day.

The Award is designed to highlight the book that provides the most compelling and enjoyable insight into modern business issues, including management, finance and economics. Entries were invited from publishers of business books in the English language first published between 31st October 2009 and 15th November 2010.

For further information, download the press release below or contact [email protected]. You can also follow the Award on Twitter @Bizbookaward