Entries open for The LBF International Excellence Awards 2018

The London Book Fair turns up the volume on the International Awards 2018


The London Book Fair (LBF), in association with the Publishers Association (The PA), has launched the LBF International Excellence Awards’ first ever Audiobook Publisher award.

The 2018 awards, in their fifth year, opened online submissions today. The awards, sponsored by Hytex, celebrate publishing success in 16 categories, representing the best publishing ambassadors, innovative publishing, and ground-breaking initiatives in the industry. Awards are given to companies and individuals across the world and across sectors, with categories including Bookstore of the Year, Educational Initiatives, Literary Agent, Adult Trade Publisher and Brand Licensing.

Companies or individuals can enter the awards via the LBF website by Friday 26 January 2018. Publishers are also encouraged to nominate companies or individuals who they feel deserve to be recognised for outstanding achievement in publishing this year.

Jacks Thomas, Director of The London Book Fair, said: “These awards showcase and champion the achievements of the publishing industry around the globe – each year we are bowled over by the innovation, passion and talent that the nominations reveal.  In a digital age, new ways of consuming books continue to emerge; it is great to be able to recognise the latest star of the show, the audio book.”

Stephen Lotinga, Chief Executive, the UK Publishers Association, said: “After the success of last year’s awards, we are delighted to be involved again in celebrating the great innovation and excellence in the publishing industry. One of the main objectives of the Publishers Association is to ensure people understand the true value publishers make in the creative sector and these awards go a great way in celebrating this fact. Given the increasing popularity of audiobooks in recent years, it is also great to be able to celebrate this growing area this year.”

The Awards are the UK’s recognition of international publishing industry excellence. They have been designed to celebrate achievement across the entire business of publishing. Twelve categories are open to international companies outside the UK only, and UK organisations are eligible for four awards. New Market Focus Baltic Countries award categories will be announced soon.

Open to countries outside the UK only:

  • The Audiobook Publisher Award – NEW
  • The Adult Trade Publisher Award
  • The Children’s and Young Adult Publisher Award
  • The Academic and Professional Publisher Award
  • The Educational Learning Resources Award
  • The Literary Agent Award
  • The Literary Translation Initiative Award
  • The Bookstore of the Year Award
  • Accessible Books Consortium (ABC) International Excellence Award
  • The Literary Festival Award
  • The Rights Professional Award
  • The Educational Initiatives Award

Open to all countries, including the UK:

  • The London Book Fair Lifetime Achievement Award
  • The Brand Licencing Award
  • The Quantum Publishing Innovation Award

Open to UK only:

  • The Inclusivity in Publishing Award

Nominations and submissions in these categories will be reviewed by panels of UK judges with relevant expertise in each category.

The Awards ceremony will also celebrate several other awards including the Association for Publishing Education (APE) Awards. Please note nominations will not be sought for these categories with judging undertaken by APE respectively.

This year’s winners included companies from India, China, France, Turkey, Finland and Argentina, with the Arab world leading the pack with two awards. Nermin Mollaoglu (Kalem Agency) from Turkey was awarded The Literary Agent Award and new Rights Professional Award was awarded to Hui Hou from Foreign Language Teaching and Research Publishing Co., Ltd. Wydawnictwo Dwie Siostry was crowned The Market Focus Poland Children’s and Young Adult Publisher.

The awards, which celebrate international excellence in the book industry, cover the whole scope of international publishing, including academic and scholarly publishing, children’s publishing, literary translation and digital innovation.

The LBF International Excellence Awards will be an invite-only evening event, and will take place on Tuesday 10 April 2018 on the first day of The LBF 2018 in The Conference Centre, Olympia, London.


Entry by Friday 26 January 2018. Full details on the entry criteria for each award category are on the LBF website – www.londonbookfair.co.uk/awards.

Comments are closed.