British Book Industry Awards – winners announced

Cambridge, 2nd June 2009 – The winners of the book industry’s most important trade awards, the British Book Industry Awards (BBIA), were announced yesterday at the Wellcome Trust Auditorium on their Genome Campus in Hinxton, Cambridge. Representatives of all sectors of the book industry – from independent booksellers to CEOs of major publishing companies – attended an upbeat awards ceremony presented by BBC Radio 4’s The Now Show: Steve Punt, Hugh Dennis and John Holmes, during the Booksellers Industry Conference, to pay tribute to the achievements of booksellers and publishers across the UK.

The BBIA – the sister ceremony to the Galaxy British Book Awards – are organised by Publishing News in conjunction with the Booksellers Association. The event is the only one of its kind to honour all sectors of the book business and has provided the industry with a prestigious platform from which it has been able to recognise and reward its own.

Jo Henry, Managing Director of Publishing News said: “Last year proved challenging for the book industry and many are still holding their breath to see how 2009 turns out. These awards recognise the ingenuity, creativity and energy of the book publishing and retail sectors, even in this tough economic climate.”

Among many notable winners of a famous and coveted gold Nibbie, so called due to the pen nib shape of the award trophy, was Canongate, who saw off competition from the large conglomerate publishers to win the prestigious Publishing Technology Publisher of the Year. The judges noted Canongate’s great professionalism, attention to detail and sheer exuberance of their publishing programme in 2008 which led to an impressive doubling in turnover during the year.

Atlantic Books also shared in the glory, winning the Lightning Source Independent Publisher of the Year. The judges praised Atlantic’s success in achieving some very focused objectives and a Booker Winner, which resulted in record turnover and profits in 2008. Ravi Mirchandani, Atlantic, helped bring home the double for the company, winning Baker Tilly Imprint and Editor of the Year for providing tremendous direction and depth, particularly in fiction publishing, with a number of significant prize winners.

The BBIAs are based on performances in the UK during calendar year 2008. The shortlists are decided by the vote of the Academy of the British Book Awards, some 600 leading publishers, booksellers and others in the industry, and recognise achievement in all areas of publishing and bookselling, with the final winners decided by specialist judging panels. 

For further information on all the winners, awards and sponsors, please visit or contact Amelia Knight at Midas Public Relations on [email protected] or 020 7361 7866.