The Financial Times Business Book of the Year Award

book cover

The Brief 

Midas has worked with the Financial Times since the Award started in 2004, firmly establishing it as the most prestigious Award of its kind in the world, alternating announcement of the winner each year between London and New York. Winners of the Award have included stellar authors such as Thomas L. Friedman, Mohamed A. el-Erian, Thomas Piketty, William D. Cohan, and Liaquat Ahamed. And over the 18 years of the Award the judges have comprised leading business figures such as Sir Martin Sorrell, Lloyd Blankfein, Mario Monti, Shruti Vadera, Randall Kroszner, Dambisa Moyo and Mitchell Baker. We also have worked closely with the two commercial sponsors and their teams. For ten years with Goldman Sachs and latterly with McKinsey & Company.


The Work 

Working closely with the FT, Midas is responsible for calling for submissions to BBYA from all corners of the globe, a total of just over 400 titles each year in a 3-month process.

Our activity included, publishing the longlist in early August and the shortlist in September to maximise international media coverage, as well as organising a shortlist announcement event for over 100 people from business, publishing and media in New York and London.


The Results

Midas PR’s segmented media approach consistently delivers a wide range of international news stories, interviews and features spanning newspapers and magazines including the FT, The Times, Sunday Times, Daily Telegraph, Sunday Telegraph, The Guardian, Evening Standard, Irish Times, The Scotsman, The Economist, Director Magazine, Investors Chronicle, Wall Street Journal, Toronto Globe & Mail, New York Times, The Telegraph (India), broadcast media including BBC Today Programme, BBC Worldwide Business Daily, BBC World Service, Sky News – Ian King Live, Sky News, Al Jazeera and Bloomberg plus influential online platforms such as 800 CEO Read, Huffington Post.